All-new displays tell the story of Woodbridge and its surrounding area by focusing on the lives of a selection of local people, from Tudor times to the present-day. Some, like Thomas Seckford and the Lockwoods, have left us a legacy that includes some of the town’s most iconic buildings. The artist Thomas Churchyard and the surveyor Isaac Johnson have drawn and painted and measured the landscapes of two centuries ago and they too have left their record.
A soldier from the Napoleonic barracks, a child witnessing a Zeppelin raid in WWI and a garage-owner organising air-raid patrols in WW2, all tell their stories, as do the river pilots, the ferrymen and the boat-builders. Not to be forgotten, press reports from 1939 tell the now world-famous story of the dig at Edith Pretty’s Sutton Hoo estate, just across the river from Woodbridge.
Find the special corner in the museum designed with children in mind.
ShopThe museum shop has a wide range of souvenirs, books and postcards reflecting the local area.
Woodbridge TrailDiscover people and places from Woodbridge’s past with this walking trail.
Normal Opening Times
Summer, 2nd April to 31st October:
10:30 - 16:30, every day.
Winter, 1st November to 1st April:
10:30 - 15:30, Saturday & Sunday.
Often open every day during school holidays.
On rare occasions we are unable open the museum at the times shown because of a lack of stewards. Our sincere apologies if this has affected you.
Disabled Access: The museum is fully accessible for wheelchair users.
One way system and other COVID safety precautions in place.
Parking: The nearest car park is at the station, 5 minutes walk away.